Marcia Mae Jones (August 1, 1924 â€" September 2, 2007) was an American actress whose prolific career spanned 47 years.



Jones made her film debut at the age of two in the 1926 film Mannequin. She appeared in films such as King of Jazz (1930), Street Scene (1931), and Night Nurse (1931) before rising to child stardom in the 1930s with roles in The Champ (1931) and, alongside Shirley Temple in Heidi (1937) and The Little Princess (1939). She also starred in films such as The Garden of Allah (1936), These Three (1936), and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1938).

Marcia Mae Jones blossomed into a wide-eyed, blonde, wholesome-looking teenager, and worked steadily in motion pictures through her late teens. She appeared in First Love (1939), in support of Deanna Durbin. In 1940 Monogram Pictures signed her to co-star with Jackie Moran in a few rustic romances; when this series lapsed, both Jones and Moran joined Monogram's popular action-comedy series starring Frankie Darro.

As a young adult she continued to work in motion pictures, notably in Nine Girls (1944) and Arson, Inc. (1948). Like many familiar faces of the 1940s, she appeared on numerous television programs. In 1951 she appeared as comic foil to Buster Keaton in Keaton's filmed TV series. She went on to work in such top-rated shows as The Cisco Kid, The Adventures of Wild Bill Hickok, The George Burns and Gracie Allen Show, Peyton Place, and General Hospital. Her last major role was in the Barbra Streisand film The Way We Were in 1973.

Personal life

Jones was the youngest of four children born to actress Freda Jones. All three of her siblings, Margaret, Macon, and Marvin Jones, were also child actors.

She married and divorced on two occasions Robert Chic, as well as had two sons with him.


  • Mannequin (1926)
  • King of Jazz (1930)
  • Street Scene (1931)
  • Night Nurse (1931)
  • The Champ (1931)
  • The Garden of Allah (1936)
  • These Three (1936)
  • Heidi (1937)
  • Lady Behave! (1937)
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1938)
  • The Little Princess (1939)
  • First Love (1939)
  • Anne of Windy Poplars (1940)
  • Nine Girls (1944)
  • Arson, Inc. (1948)


External links

  • Marcia Mae Jones at the Internet Movie Database
  • Marcia Mae Jones at Find a Grave

Post a Comment